The Last Thing You Said
By Sara Biren
Narrated by Julia Knippen
  • Imprint: Amulet Books
  • Publication Date: February 12, 2019
  • Price: $17.95
  • ISBN: 978-1-4197-4051-0
  • EAN: 9781419740510
  • Page Count: 320
  • Format: Audio
  • Rights: World English
  • Additional formats:

Lucy always loved summers on Halcyon Lake—sunning on the lake raft, relaxing on the boat, and spending every possible minute with her best friend, Trixie, and Trixie’s brother, Ben, Lucy’s lifelong crush. Until last summer, when one tragic event turned their idyllic world upside down. Now nothing is the same. This summer, Trixie is gone, and Ben is distant, numbing his pain with parties and a string of interchangeable girlfriends. Lucy does her best to move on and avoid this cold new Ben. She throws herself into babysitting, waitressing, and a sweet new romance with the renter next door. But in their small lake town, forgetting the past—and Ben—proves impossible. He still seems to be everywhere: at work, at the movies . . . and in Lucy’s heart. Lucy so wants to move on, but how can she forgive when she can’t forget?

Praise

**STARRED REVIEW**
"Biren's debut novel offers a tender look at a particular moment in the lives of two teens...The best kind of tragic love story."
Kirkus
"Fans of Sarah Dessen and Huntley Fitzpatrick’s books will find much to love in this emotional romance."
School Library Journal
"Biren’s tender story aches as the teens and their families try to put the pieces of their lives together again and find a way to heal... The compelling story will leave readers feeling the characters’ pain and cheering for them at the same time—and looking forward to more from this author."
Booklist

About the author

Sara Biren is the author of The Last Thing You Said andCold Day in the Sun. She lives outside of Minneapolis with her husband and two children. Visit Sara at sarabiren.com.