Free Shipping on Orders $49.95 and Above!
Abrams Books Logo
Where Three Oceans Meet

Where Three Oceans Meet

By Rajani LaRocca
Illustrator Archana Sreenivasan

Hardcover

Price: $17.99

  • Additional formats:
  • Publication Date: August 24, 2021
  • Imprint: Abrams Books for Young Readers
  • Trim Size: 10 12 x 8 12
  • ISBN: 9781419741296
  • Page Count: 40
  • Illustrations: Full-color illustrations throughout
  • Rights: World/All

A child, mother, and grandmother travel all the way to the end of the earth in this picture book that celebrates multigenerational love—perfect for fans of Drawn Together and Alma.

“I want to see what’s at the end of the earth!”

Sejal, Mommy, and Pati travel together to the southern tip of India. Along the way, they share meals, visit markets, and catch up with old friends.
For Pati, the trip retraces spaces she knows well. For Mommy, it’s a return to the place she grew up. For Sejal, it’s a discovery of new sights and sounds. The family finds their way to Kanyakumari, where three oceans meet, and delight in making it to the end of the earth together.
This own voices picture book celebrates the beauty of India and the enduring love of family.

Praise

"A celebration of intergenerational, border-crossing love. . ." 
Kirkus Reviews
"A satisfyingly poignant close against expansive views from Kanyakumari concludes this warm intergenerational tale, which emphasizes how love transcends distance and endures across continents." 
Publishers Weekly
"The metaphor of the intertwining of cross-cultural and cross-generational similarities and differences is sustained from start to finish, offering points of connection for readers from all backgrounds." 
Booklist

Rajani LaRocca talks about the inspiration for the book


About the author

Rajani LaRocca is a physician and an author of books for young readers, such as Midsummer’s Mayhem and Seven Golden Rings. She was born in Bangalore, India, and immigrated to the United States when she was very young. She now lives in eastern Massachusetts with her family. You can find her online at rajanilarocca.com. Archana Sreenivasan is a freelance illustrator. Her previous picture books include Desert Girl, Monsoon Boy and Seven Golden Rings. She lives in Bangalore, India, with her family. You can find her online at archanasreenivasan.com.
 

  • You may also like Grandpa Across the Ocean