Franklin D. Roosevelt The Making of America #5
  • Imprint: Abrams Books for Young Readers
  • Publication Date: October 8, 2019
  • Price: $15.29
  • ISBN: 978-1-68335-628-8
  • EAN: 9781683356288
  • Page Count: 256
  • Illustrations: black and white archival images throughout
  • Format: Ebook
  • Rights: World/All
  • Additional formats:

The inspiring story of one of America’s greatest presidents

The fifth book in the Making of America series, Franklin D. Roosevelt examines the life of America’s 32nd president: his birth into one of America’s elite families, his domineering mother, his marriage to Eleanor Roosevelt, his struggle with polio, and his political career. A Democrat, Roosevelt (1882–1945) won a record four presidential elections and is the longest-serving US president.

During his time in office, he led the country through the Great Depression and World War II. He helped to redefine the role of the US government with the New Deal. Scholars often rate him as one of the three greatest US presidents along with George Washington and Abraham Lincoln. The book includes selections from FDR’s writings, endnotes, a bibliography, and an index.


"Kanefield provides readers with an intimate examination of Franklin Delano Roosevelt . . . it flows in a friendly and welcoming style that reluctant readers will appreciate."
Kirkus Reviews

About the author

Teri Kanefield is a lawyer and the award-winning author of The Girl from the Tar Paper School, The Extraordinary Suzy Wright, the Making of America series, and more. She lives in San Luis Obispo, on the central California coast.