Anna Hu: Symphony of Jewels Opus 2

Anna Hu: Symphony of Jewels

Opus 2

By Sarah Davis
Introduction by Janet Zapata
Foreword by François Curiel


Price: $75.00

  • Publication Date: March 12, 2019
  • Imprint: Vendome Press
  • Trim Size: 11 x 13
  • ISBN: 9780865653412
  • Page Count: 192
  • Illustrations: More than 200 photographs and illustrations
  • Rights: North America

In this, the second volume of a projected multivolume series, jewelry designer Anna Hu presents a carefully curated selection of exceptional pieces created over the past five years. Born in Taiwan, Hu was trained as a concert cellist. After receiving degrees in jewelry design at New York’s FIT, the history of decorative arts at Parsons, and arts administration at Columbia University, she apprenticed at Christie’s jewelry department, Van Cleef & Arpels, and Harry Winston. In 2007, she opened Anna Hu Haute Joallerie, specializing in one-of-a-kind jewelry executed by French ateliers using the rarest stones in the world. In Symphony of Jewels: Opus 2, renowned jewelry historian Janet Zapata surveys the impressive trajectory of Hu’s career and looks to her future as one of the brightest diamonds in the world of contemporary fine jewelry design.

About the author

Sarah Davis is a jewelry historian, author, and editor for the American Society of Jewelry Historians. She was editor and a co-author of Jeweled Splendors of the Art Deco Era: The Prince and Princess Sadruddin Aga Khan Collection. Janet Zapata, a historian of jewelry and decorative arts, is the author or coauthor of numerous books, including Cartier in the 20th Century, The Jewels and Enamels of Louis Comfort Tiffany, and Seaman Schepps. François Curiel is chairman, Europe and Asia, Christie’s.