Toll Bridge
  • Imprint: Amulet Paperbacks
  • Publication Date: April 1, 2009
  • Price: $9.95
  • Trim Size: 5 14 x 8 12
  • ISBN: 978-0-8109-8358-8
  • EAN: 9780810983588
  • Page Count: 288
  • Format: Paperback
  • Rights: US/Poss and Terr/Can/Phil English

To escape the pressures of suffocating parents and a possessive girlfriend, seventeen-year-old Piers takes a job as a keeper of a toll bridge and its cottage. There he befriends Adam, a charismatic wayfarer who shows up one day and refuses to leave. He also befriends a girl named Tess, and soon he and Tess find themselves strangely attracted to Adam and falling under his spell. The three test their sexuality and the bonds of their friendship as they discover who they are—and aren't—in a harrowing course of events that leaves all three wondering if you can ever really know anyone.

Like the other books in The Dance Sequence, The Toll Bridge can be read alone or as part of the series.

About the author

Aidan Chambers is the author of the highly acclaimed Dance Sequence of young-adult novels: Breatktime, Dance on My Grave, Now I Know, The Toll Bridge, Postcards from No Man’s Land, and This Is All: The Pillow Book of Cordelia Kenn. Aidan won the Michael L. Printz Award and the Carnegie Medal for Postcards from No Man’s Land, and was awarded the Hans Christian Andersen Award, children’s literature’s highest honor, for his body of work. He’s only the second British writer to win it. He lives in the west of England with his American wife, Nancy.