Klickitat
  • Imprint: Amulet Books
  • Publication Date: April 12, 2016
  • Price: $15.54
  • Trim Size: 5 14 x 8 14
  • ISBN: 1-61312-897-5
  • EAN: 9781613128978
  • Page Count: 224
  • Format: Ebook
  • Rights: World English
  • Additional formats:

Vivian feels left behind when her older sister, Audra, runs away from home. She believes that Audra will return and pays careful attention to the clues around her. Then, inexplicably, writing begins to appear in a blank notebook.

When Audra does come back for Vivian, she’s in the company of a strange man. The three of them run away together and practice wilderness survival. While Audra plans for the future, Vivian continues to gather evidence: Who is this mysterious man, and does he have any connection to the words appearing in her notebook?

Klickitat is a haunting story, full of atmosphere and awakening, crafted by one of today's most startling literary talents.

"The dreamy narration is evocative of The Virgin Suicides…it might be a readalike for E. Lockhart’s We Were Liars…"--VOYA

Praise

" Brooding, evocative, mysterious; a tale for mature readers to dig into—and then discuss."
Kirkus
"... this pensive, atmospheric novel rewards its readers with an unsettling yet beguiling exploration of how humans connect with each other, their environment, and what lies beyond."
The Horn Book
"...the book features themes that teens can easily relate to: developing one’s identity, coping with distant parents, questioning authority, and rejecting “the way things are.” ...This is a quick read, and the tension is maintained throughout, making this ideal for mystery lovers and reluctant readers. VERDICT A gripping, tautly constructed, down-the-rabbit-hole mystery."
School Library Journal
"Alex Award winner Rock (My Abandonment, 2009) weaves a quiet, highly atmospheric tale of sisterly love, finding your true self, and personal connection. The idea of communication pervades the narrative—disembodied voices snared by radio frequencies, cryptic words that appear in Vivian’s notebook as if by magic. This is a novel for contemplative teens that will prompt them to examine the world they know in a new light."
Booklist
"This richly atmospheric, magicial realist story poses existential questions about displacement, the limits of normal life in cities and suburbs, and the disconnection between people who talk past each other, sending out messages that may not reach their intended recipients or any recipients at all."
Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
“Rock’s YA debut is lyrical, mystifying, and wrenching.”
The Boston Globe

Video


About the author

Peter Rock is the recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship, a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship, and a Wallace Stegner Fellowship. His adult novel My Abandonment won the Alex Award. He lives in Portland, Oregon, with his wife and two young daughters. www.peterrockproject.com.