book details
Across the Ravaged Land
Across the Ravaged Land
Authors: By Nick Brandt
Imprint: Abrams Books
ISBN: 1-4197-0945-3
EAN: 9781419709456
Availability: In Stock
Publishing Date: 9/24/2013
Trim Size: 15 x 13
Page Count: 120
Cover: Hardcover with jacket
Illustrations: 50 tritone photographs

About the book
Across the Ravaged Land is the third and final volume in Nick Brandt’s trilogy of books documenting the disappearing animals of eastern Africa. The book offers a darker vision of this world, still filled with a stunning beauty but now tragically tainted and fast disappearing at the hands of man.
In addition to a range of starkly powerful animal portraits, Brandt introduces some new themes, as humans make an appearance for the first time. He also contributes two essays summing up his photographic odyssey, which has taken more than a decade of intensive work to complete.

About the author
Nick Brandt photographs exclusively in Africa, where since 2001 he has been working on a last testament to wild animals and wild places. The first two volumes of the trilogy were recently combined and published together as On This Earth, A Shadow Falls. Brandt’s work has been widely exhibited in the United States and Europe. In 2010, he founded Big Life Foundation to help preserve critical ecosystems in Kenya and Tanzania. Born and raised in England, he lives in the mountains of Southern California.

Tools:  Print  ·  Email  ·  Bookmarks: Share/Save/Bookmark 
you may also like...
A Shadow Falls
Nick Brandt
In A Shadow Falls, which features fifty-eight recent images in stunning, oversized tritone plates...
>> book details
On This Earth, A Shadow Falls
Nick Brandt
In 2001, Nick Brandt embarked on an ambitious photographic project, a trilogy of books...
>> book details
Vanity Fair 100 Years
Graydon Carter
Vanity Fair 100 Years showcases a century of personality and power, art and commerce, crisis and...
>> book details
Eric Goode
The fabled New York nightclub Area opened its doors in September 1983 and virtually overnight...
>> book details